Blow, blow thy winter wind, Part 2

Winter in England has been rough too, but in entirely different ways. It has rained. And rained. And then rained some more. In hard, sudden bursts, water hammering the already saturated ground. This is a photo of the Wolvercote/Godstow end of the Port Meadow, early December – when things were still mostly normal. Most of the photos below are from the same general area, few hundred feet up and down the river.
IMGP4665

The same spot yesterday.
IMGP4943

The Port Meadow has pretty much turned into a lake. I have never thought much of this “beauty spot”, so I actually prefer this vast, shining stretch of water it is now, and feel a bit sad knowing that it probably won’t be there much longer.

IMGP5043

A slightly different angle of Oxford.

IMGP5002

IMGP5032

The weather was full of surprises. I was standing under a tree, cursing the sheeting rain, when suddenly the clouds scattered, a brilliant, breathtaking sunshine coloured the landscape, and the brightest, most glorious rainbow I have ever seen arched across the sky. I felt like I could touch it. It almost felt – if I was one to use such words – like a blessing. The beauty of it was overwhelming.

IMGP4923

IMGP4947

So many rainbows. So much dirt on my sensor.

IMGP5023

After a slightly dull morning, the afternoon was glorious.

IMGP4964

The Godstow Lock. This is the closest I got yesterday – the path was flooded, and my bootlegs were not high enough to wade through the waters.

IMGP4957

IMGP4955

Louisiana in Oxford?

IMGP4989

IMGP5042

IMGP4893

IMGP5046

So much wildlife! My reflexes – or my lens – are not quick enough for the rabbits, but I managed to snap some birds, all looking rather spring-like.

IMGP4974

IMGP4906

IMGP5041

I never knew there are pikes in the Isis.

IMGP4971

A Port Meadow horse. One of these guys followed me as I crossed the meadow, his nose pressed against my back. I love horses, and feel quite comfortable around them, but that was still a tiny bit unnerving. This fella, on the other hand, paid no attention whatsoever on me.

IMGP5065

IMGP5018

IMGP4833

IMGP4868

IMGP4837

Almost missed the snowdrops this year. My secret bluebell place is also my secret snowdrop place, it turns out. And my crocus place. It’s a small cemetery somewhere in Jericho – not a particularly photogenic place, but a true secret garden – so few people know it’s there. I won’t give you directions, but look for it, when you are in the neighbourhood.

2 thoughts on “Blow, blow thy winter wind, Part 2

Leave a Reply

